Khaled Hosseini’s “A Thousand Splendid Suns”

RATING: 4/5 stars.

GENRE: War zone, Domestic atrocity and Survival.

REVIEW: This book is about the lives of two women who are brought together by destiny and how one helped the other to slip through the fingers of adversity and the clutches of death under the Afghan-Soviet war frenzy. When I flipped the last page of this novel, I found myself reading the acknowledgements as I was looking for more to read. I was still in awe of it being over. I thought to myself, if someone asked me how I was feeling after finishing it; I’d say: “Thank God for Hosseini.” Its an amazing book that has you feeling like a presence in the room amongst the characters. Every word that he writes further for the completion of his sentences has your soul on the brink of being called upon. It was the first book that made me cry not because it holds so much pain in it but how beautifully the pain fabricated into reality. I will recommend this to everyone but not those who are emotionally vulnerable and will connect the atrocities of their lives to the beauty of this book. The beauty I mistook as a heart-wrenching tale. In a nutshell, it is a vivid and heart-touching story.

Leave a Reply

